Emulations

I actually don’t use the T-RackS compressors much. When I do, though, I choose them based on their sound. Personally, it doesn’t matter to me what it was based on or inspired by or copied off… The only important thing is the sound. The 670 compressor could be called “Thick Gooey Compressor” and have an original interface, and it’d be the same to me.

Software is not in competition with hardware. There are many reasons for using hardware, and sound is one of them… but there are other reasons too – like workflow and studio strategy. I don’t think anyone’s going cancel an order on a hardware Fairchild because they can get a software version that sounds similar for $99.

It’s great to have software that’s modelled on classic hardware. The reason some  hardware equipment is classic is that studio engineers have found them to be particularly useful. Using this gear as the basis for designing software gives us these same design principals that can make the software useful in a similar way. Still, I judge any piece of gear (software or hardware) on its own merits. It doesn’t matter how well it ‘models’ another piece of gear – what’s important is how it sounds on its own. I have some very accurate emulations that I almost never use, and some ‘not-so-accurate’ emulations that I rely on for every mix.

-Kim.

Comments are closed.
