ProRec Article – Reverb Types Explained

Consider this an extension to this article – I’ve just had another article published on ProRec explaining the different kinds of reverbs commonly used in recordings. There’s good coverage of pretty much all common reverb types and good explanations, but the real jewels (in my view, at least) are the comprehensive audio examples with detailed explanations of what to listen for in each type of reverb.

Check it out here:

http://prorec.com/Articles/tabid/109/EntryId/345/Reverb-Types-Explained.aspx

-Kim.

    • Rich
    • November 11th, 2009

    Great article! Any chance you could post the CSR presets? Also, what piano (or, sampled piano?) is being played here? Sounds GREAT!

    Thanks Kim :)

    Rich

  1. I think they were all presets from my own custom library. It’s not the first time I’ve been asked to share it… maybe I should get on that soon!

    The piano is probably my favourite piano that I use for everything! It’s a custom variation of the Ambient Grand in Sonik Synth 2. My variation adds more velocity sensitivity to volume and brightness, though you probably can’t hear it in these examples!

    -Kim.

    • Rich
    • November 11th, 2009

    Wow! I have Sonik Synth 2 and I have never created such a beautiful piano sound!! If you feel generous enough to share the SS2 patch (as well as the CSR presets) please email me. I would be most grateful :) :)

    Rich

    • Danger Rat
    • November 14th, 2009

    Hehe, had the same questions as Rich.
    Really good article with some tasty audio clips.
    I especially liked your settings of the room reverb.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Comments are closed.
