Come into my Kitchen…

[Note: The Kitchen has changed. See here for more details]

Some of you who have been paying close attention may have noticed some references to a project called ‘The Kitchen’.

Those who have subscribed to my email list (there’s a form at the top right of this page) were given the full details about this a couple of months ago.

The rest of you might at this point be wondering – What is the Kitchen?

Essentially, the Kitchen is a way for me to help you with your music projects. My help. Your music. You and me. Detailed and specific assistance. It’s a little bit like hiring me as your producer. Except it’s online. And it costs less (more on that later). And it’s a small community of friends.

Think of it as:

  • A private community that is serious about making better music.
  • A way for me to give you direct, personal assistance on your projects.
  • A place to discuss music making without trolls, distractions or bad advice.
  • A small group of trusted friends, not a public forum.

What are the possibilities?

  • Having difficulty mixing a tricky song? I can mix it and tell you what I did.
  • Feeling confused about something? I can write a detailed tutorial just for you.
  • Having trouble writing a bassline or chord progression? I can write parts with you.
  • I can give you feedback on your work at multiple stages – composing, mixing, mastering, etc.

And that’s not all… There are some PDF documents at the Kitchen as well. Some of you have asked for a downloadable (and printable) PDF version of this blog. The PDFs at the Kitchen are better! They’re based on some blog posts, but they’re better-written and integrate concepts together to give you a better understanding of how different techniques work together.

The Kitchen has been running privately for several months and over a dozen people have found it valuable.

How much does it cost?

This is the internet in 2010. You are from all over the world, with different capacities to afford this kind of help. You might have fluctuating needs – bunkering down to work alone one month, followed by intense co-writing or co-mixing with me the next month. I might provide help every few days, or you might be happy to read the PDFs and casually chat about the music industry. Everyone’s needs are different.

The Kitchen works on a monthly ‘pay-what-you-want’ model. This means the Kitchen is as affordable or valuable as you want it to be. That means you’re not tied to a yearly membership. That means you can dip your toe in the water and get a taste if you want.

If you want to be part of it next month (and I hope you do!), simply follow the link below to make your payment. Further details will be provided by email.

https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=SMS2L5QH5UNWA

Signups are now open for September. See you at the Kitchen!

-Kim.

    • Joachim
    • September 6th, 2010

    Hello kim! I’m very interested about the idea, it sounds really cool. I hope this can help me, because i feel that i don’t really come anywhere. I have some cool ideas of making tracks and such, but i have a hard time getting the real vibe of a professional track or making it sound “full”.

    I’m also very interested in working with other people, participate in projects and such. Do you think your service will fill my needs? If so, please email me and tell me more about it. :)

    Jocke

  1. Short version: The Kitchen would be very valuable to you.

    Longer version: Check your email!

    -Kim.

    • rexxz
    • September 7th, 2010

    Hey Kim, I think this is an awesome idea! I know it will be a success because you’re amazing at what you do.

  2. Thanks! I appreciate the kind words.

    • Chris
    • September 29th, 2010

    I’m interested but I’d like to know more about the appropriate payment for the services I’m looking for. Shoot me an email if you have time! Thank you!

  3. @Chris
    Email sent!

    -Kim.

    • Jeff
    • November 8th, 2010

    I am also interested in this, but want more information about this and also what genres can you help with? Send me an email, safe!

  4. @Jeff
    Email sent!

    -Kim.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Comments are closed.
