Free guide for email subscribers – Texture, Dynamics and Structure

Just a quick heads up to my email subscribers – next Monday/Tuesday (depending on your time zone) you’ll be receiving another free guide and asking a favour from anyone in London or Berlin.

The guide is called ‘Texture, Dynamics and Structure’, and covers a *lot* of ground:

  • Texture
  • Harshness / Smoothness
  • Denseness / Sparseness
  • Heaviness / Lightness
  • Stability / Instability
  • Foreground / Background
  • Intensity
  • Dynamics
  • Structure
    • Exposition
    • Development
    • Recapitulation
  • In Use
    • Variation
    • Contrast
    • Buildups
    • Excitement
  • Taking It Further
    • Contour
    • Development
    • Momentum
    • Expectation

    As with my other guides, the content is not a simple rehash of my blog posts – it’s been written as a whole, designed to go into more detail than these blog posts and link the various concepts together.

    -Kim.

    1. I’m in Berlin. What kind of help may I offer you?

      • B
      • June 22nd, 2011

      looking forward to this material

    2. Awesome news! Can’t wait. When was the last guide sent out? I didn’t know email was preferred so I’ve been just using the rss feed in my reader. D’oh! >_<

      • Zenhauser
      • June 23rd, 2011

      Wow, I’m so glad I came across this blog. I continally find myself rereading past posts. Thanks Kim. I’m really looking forward to the guide. Is it possible to get access to previous guides?

      p.s. I’m not in Berlin or London but if you ever need a favour from someone living in Toronto please let me know.

    3. Sounds good Kim! Looking forward to it (as long as us rss subscribers can join the fun too)!

    4. Thanks for the quick replies!

      @Heiko
      One of my artists is travelling to Berlin… I’ll have more details in the email. ;-)

      @B
      Thanks!

      @Jasmine
      It’s been almost six months since the last guide was sent out. I was going to do it in April, but ended up being too busy with other work. I’ve also got another guide that’ll probably go out later this year, and another one (on emotions and music!) that I’ve almost finished writing.

      @Zenhauser
      Previous guides aren’t available yet… I’m still thinking about how to do it in the right way. At the moment, they’re only available as a little secret for those in the know. ;-) The whole set might be available as a package in the future, but I’m not sure yet.

      @Shannon
      The guides only go out via email. If you prefer to receive the blog posts via RSS, you can subscribe by email, receive the special mailout, and unsubscribe later. A lot of people prefer to get the blog posts via email, though. And every now and then I send something special out just via email. ;-)

      -Kim.

      • G
      • June 24th, 2011

      Just wanted to chime in and let you know that finding this blog was like finding gold to a beginning producer like me! Keep up the excellent work, Kim!! Looking forward to this guide!

    5. @G
      Thanks!

      -Kim.

    6. Hello Kim,

      I also want to say that I really love your blog. I’ve read every blogpost you’ve written, printed them out and collect them in a binder. #Nerd haha. Great topics and I really apreciate what you are doing for us struggeling producers and musicians. I don’t know if you are thinking about it, but it would be great if you would write a book. I would deffinitly buy it! Is it possible to send me previous guides? I’m already on the mailinglist, but only since a couple of months.

      Again, thank you verry much and keep up the good work.

    7. @chris H
      You’re not the only one who’s printed them out. There’s a PDF floating around somewhere with most of the posts all together in a single printable document.

      The previous guides will probably be made available in the future, stay tuned. ;-)

      -Kim.

    8. Has the guide already gone out? I feel real dumb, I did the signup process last week but apparently never clicked the confirmation link – I thought I had but since I apparently didn’t and it’s afternoon now I figured I’d check and see :)

    9. @hegpetz
      Nope, hasn’t gone out yet. Expect it in about 12 hours. ;-)

      -Kim.

    10. …and SENT! :-)

      -Kim.

      • nox
      • July 4th, 2011

      Hey I was wondering if it’s too late to get the guide? I check your site on a regular basis by just going here so never bothered with email or rss…

    11. @nox
      The guide has already gone out. I’d suggest signing up by email or RSS if you don’t want to miss anything. If you prefer to receive the blog posts via RSS, you can subscribe by email, receive the special mailout, and unsubscribe later.

      -Kim.

      • Garreth
      • September 8th, 2011

      Hi Kim, love your blog, I just saw ur post on Texture, Dynamics and Structure and would love to get my grubby lil mits on that guide, could u please sent it to me, I’ve recently started producing and any extra knowledge I can cram in would be appreciated, thanks anyhooo, Gar.

    12. @Garreth
      Great to hear you’re excited about learning how to improve your skills! I’ll be making this guide (and others) available again at some point in the future. Stay tuned.

      -Kim.

    1. No trackbacks yet.

    Comments are closed.
